//
you're reading...
Fashion

Fashionably Me : Full Steampunk Ahead

Fashionably Me

By Kim Jovinelli

Full Steampunk Ahead!

My last article focused on the Rockabilly/Psychobilly craze which centered on 1940-50’s fashion and hair. In this article, were going to time travel back 150 years and to another dimension where Queen Victoria reigns, airships fill the sky, and the world is powered by clock gears and steam. Yes, I’m talking STEAMPUNK!

As a historian by nature, this style and way of life fascinates me. What’s even better is that this is not limited at all by the constraints of fashion alone. It transfers to gadgets/electronics, toys, furniture, vehicles, literature, and art. Got something you want to steampunk out? Cool! Buy some crazy glue and some clock gears and you’re golden. Granted that’s a rudimentary way of doing it, but you get the idea.

Since this is a fashion blog, I will focus primarily on the clothing and style aspect of this amazing way of life. If you Google ‘Steampunk’, you will be bombarded with site after site about where to buy the specialized clothing, how to dress, parties to attend, fiction to read, and articles much like this one. This way of dressing, as stated before, is a way of life and particularly specialized. It’s full of corsets, goggles, gears, knickers, suspenders, and flight jackets. Think Punky Victorian.

In all actuality, the Steampunk fashion comes off as more of a costume then a way of dress, but it is possible to incorporate aspects into everyday dress. The best way I have found, as a fan of this myself (I’m actually going to be doing steampunk Red Riding Hood for Halloween, that article will be interesting), is by accessorizing. I myself own a pair of clock gear earrings that I purchased at Claire’s for $6 – which, by the way, I constantly get complemented on.

If you are interested in discovering more about this style, my personal suggestion is to go to www.Etsy.com and search ‘steampunk’. Everything on that site is handmade or vintage and you can find some amazing things to fit every taste and fashion willingness. I myself have bought a bustle off of the site and have used it for at least two Halloweens and am trying to figure out how I can wear it to a bar.

At any rate, this is a bold and fantastical way to express yourself, which is what really matters. I’m a firm believer in the principle that if it makes you happy about yourself, no matter what it is, then DO IT!!

Please feel free to leave me a comment on your thoughts or ideas for articles. I will answer all that I can personally. Also, follow me on twitter @FASHIONphi.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

