//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Chewin the Fat : Remembering Dustin Walls

Chewin the Fat

by Bay Ragni

Remembering Dustin Walls

Hey Everyone, I was asked the other day if I could re post the blog I had written earlier this year about Dustin Walls, by Dustin’s wife Kylee.

Yes, I realize today is Memorial Day, and today is a day where we pay tribute to fallen soldiers who lost their life in battle for our country.

All those soldiers, deserve to be honored everyday for what they have done, and what our soldiers continue to do everyday for this country, and I thank you and salute you all.

I think it would also be fitting to pay tribute today for Dustin as well, because he was a soldier as well, who lost his battle with Cancer. Dustin fought a war, with bravery and courage, like the soldiers who defend our country.

Dustin was fighting to defend his family, and to remain and protect them, so as I thank & salute our soldiers, I do the same for Dustin, and so should you…………..

Below is my original blog after Dustin lost his battle, so this remembrance will now live on through Totally Driven, just like Dustin will live on through his wife Kylee & daughter Layla as well as his family & friends.

 ****Originally Posted Feb 15, 2012****

Well Hello Everyone, & Welcome back to a new Chewin the Fat !!!

It’s been a few weeks since I written a blog, basically because since the closing of the Arena, there really hasn’t been much of interest going on in my eyes until the other day.

A huge long time wrestling fan (Dustin Walls) from the area lost his 2 year battle with a rare form a cancer (Adult Rhabdomyosarcoma). Dustin was only 26 years old, and not only leaves behind in this world a lot of family & friends, but a wife and 2 yr old little girl.

I first became friends with Dustin just before he was diagnosed with this horrible disease. Dustin worked at my bank, and friended me on Facebook and shot me a messaged saying. That he worked at my bank and would see me come in or come through the drive through, and would mark out for me, and wanted to just stop me and talk with wrestling with me but didn’t want to bother me. He then also said to me, I have gone through your bank records………which kind of creeped me out……..lol.

He would message me from time to time to ask wrestling questions, telling me how he wanted to try wrestling, asking if I knew any schools or anyone that would train him.

Shortly after this he found out he was sick. He told me he found out he found out he had cancer, and his training would have to wait but he would keep in touch and that he would fight this and he wasn’t going to give up or anything like that.

About 6 – 9 months into his treatment, he mentioned on FB he was in a mood to rock out with a guitar to some loud music, but didn’t have a guitar. I shot him a message and told him, I have 1 for you. I met him that night at the Best Buy close to our house, and we just stood out front for like an hour talking. In that hour I had a really great conversation with him and got to know Dustin as a person, not the creepy bank guy who was a mark for the wrestling business.

We had a few mutual friends from not only the wrestling business, but from other interests in our life…….like comedy & music.

We talked that night naturally about wrestling, and and bands and local comedians, but when we talked about his cancer, that showed me the real person Dustin was.

He held his head high, bald from treatments, not embarrassed or depressed by what he had been dealt. Other then his baldness, you would not think he was seriously sick. He had a smile to his face and quite happy to be alive. The thing that really made him glow when he talked was his family. He told me about his wife & his little baby girl. He said repeatedly I wont give up this fight, I plan to be there for my wife & my daughter. They are my reasons to be alive and to fight. I stressed to him, do it, you fight it. I explained how I lost my father when I was 4 yrs old, and I wouldn’t want this for his daughter or no one, so please fight & never give up !!!

From there we kept in touch through FB, sharing our love of things…………days of wrestling past………….food……….which he turned me onto Jimmy’s Dog House on 202 in Delaware …..With this picture he put up of the Delaware Destroyer.

Which in this picture, he finished it with……….”Suck it Kobayashi”

I saw him at one of the K&S Wrestelfest events last year, which is where I think was the last time I actually saw him.

I always checked his FB to see how he was making out with his battle, and like normal he seemed to be having his good days & bad days, but it honestly seemed to be more good then bad which I was quite happy about.

Last time I spoke with Dustin was probably about a month or so ago and he mentioned to me he was dying for some Hooters Buffalo Wings, and I told him I had a VIP Wing party, I was going to be having in March and I would invite him………………..

Just about 2 weeks ago, Dustin took a turn for the worse and was going downhill fast.

Monday morning……………Dustin lost his battle.

Two years, Dustin fought this horrible disease and I didn’t see him bitch once. I see people everyday on FB bitch…………..I stubbed my toe, I have a running nose, I have a boo boo, I missed my train, ………….Life Sucks……………FML…………or some other whine or complain.

SUCK IT UP PEOPLE !!!!!

Let Dustin teach you all a lesson…………….Life isn’t that bad at all.

Dustin went through horrible treatments, and I’m sure he probably said things to himself, or maybe even his close family or friends………….but he didn’t go on his personal forum of fb or twitter and bitch about it once.

Just around the same time as I spoke with Dustin about Hooters, a mutual friend of ours, Brian Soscia from Philly’s Mix 106.1 was having CM Punk in studio for an interview, and had Dustin come down to meet Punk, here is the picture

As I said, Dustin has left behind a wife and a 2 yr old little girl. There are multiple fundraiser’s going on right now to help raise money for them.

There is one going on right now, online that is almost 50% towards it’s goal You can go right here to donate.

http://www.giveforward.com/fundraiserfordustinw?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=fb_wall&utm_campaign=receipt&fb_ref=11929

Also…………

Thursday Night

Feb 16th

Comedy Show w/ The Reverend Bob Levy & Paul Veneri, Mtv’s Twitchels

Tailgators Sports Bar & Grille

60 E. Baltimore Pk

Clifton Heights, Pa 19018

Saturday Night

Feb 18th

Connie’s Ric Rac

Comedy Show w/ Comedians for a Cause………Mike Rainey, Mayo, James Hesky & Tommy Pope.

1132 S. 9th St

Phila, Pa 19147

Also to show the sense of humor Dustin had, he wrote out his request for his funeral…….You have to read this. The best part is that there is a celebration of his life this Friday night, where is family & friends are trying to put it all together

https://www.facebook.com/events/178446085591407/

In following Dustin’s wishes for his passing, we are having a celebration of his life this Friday night. In Dustin’s words: “On your deathbed, it’s often too late to make your funeral what it should actually be…a real, valid representation of what you were in life. The following is a list of requirements and events for my funeral when the time comes. It will be printed and notarized so nobody can tell me that I “can’t do that.” Your job, dear FaceBook friends, is to ensure that it goes down the way it was intended and that it’s as awesome of a day as I was in life.” Dustin you were an AWESOME person and although this party could never reach YOUR level, WE SURE AS HELL ARE GOING TO GIVE IT OUR BEST SHOT!!Dustin’s Wishes:1. Disposal of my Remains: The following is my preferred methods of disposal. If not monetarily/legally feasible please refer to the next preferred method.
A) Stuffed by a taxidermist and posed in a cool position (dressed in a sweet suit of armor or some leather pants or something.) After stuffing I can be placed in a storage unit or basement or attic.
B) Viking Burial. Set afloat in a body of water and flaming arrows shot until I sink.
C) Traditional burial. Bury me, burn me. Whatever. Spend the least amount of money possible. We’ll need it for other cool stuff. HE WILL HAVE A TRADITIONAL BURIAL (DETAILS TBA). WE ARE TRYING TO HAVE SOME REPRESENTATION OF A VIKING BURIAL AT THE PARTY. SUGGESTIONS WELCOMED!2. Entrance music. When I am brought into the funeral location “Freebird” is to be played over some speakers. Cliched, I know. Attendees are required to stand during entire guitar solo. No exceptions. Air guitar is, however, acceptable and encouraged.

HELL YEAH! DONE DEAL!

3. Dress Code:

Women: Swimsuits. (Weather Permitting) Men: Casual. Whatever you’d like, however, Viking helmets are required to be worn except when participating in activities.

SWIMSUITS ARE NOT REQUIRED BECAUSE THE WEATHER DOESN’T PERMIT IT, BUT IT IS NOT DISCOURAGED!! HOWEVER, VIKING HATS ARE REQUIRED! MORE INFO BELOW.

4. Several kegs of beer. German or Sam Adams seasonal only. Also, I’ll need volunteers to make several hundred jello shots. All beer is to be consumed from one of three types of containers.
A) German Drinking Boot.
B) Traditional Viking Horn.
C) Blinged-Out Pimp Chalice.

WE NEED HELP WITH THIS, DETAILS BELOW

5. Any speakers must begin their speech with “Listen up, Brother!” ala Hulk Hogan. Bonus points for wearing a bandanna, faux Fu Manchu mustache, and yellow sleeveless shirt. Bonus Bonus points for tearing said shirt and completing a pose down at the conclusion of the speech.

THERE WILL BE A LIMITED NUMBER OF SPEAKERS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS PLEASE MESSAGE OR EMAIL ME.

6. Moonbounces! Moonbounces and other sorts of inflatables. Preferably with those giant boxing gloves.

WE ARE NOT PERMITTED TO HAVE A MOON BOUNCE. IT SUCKS, I KNOW!
BUT WE WILL TRY TO HAVE OTHER THINGS THAT WE CAN DO INDOORS IN THE SAME SPIRIT. SUGGESTIONS WELCOMED!

7. Sumo suits. Enough said.

WE NEED 2 SETS OF SUMO SUITS, DETAILS BELOW

8. Remember those swimsuits I mentioned earlier? There will be a large slip and slide down a hill of some sort (weather permitting). Drunk slip and slide? Yup, that just happened.

WEATHER DOESN’T PERMIT THIS :(

9. Finally, there will be a sundae-making station because, well, everyone loves sundaes!

AND IT WILL BE THE BEST SUNDAE STATION ANYONE HAS EVER SEEN!

DETAILS:

We are going to need a lot of help to make this happen! The post below is a list of what is needed. If you can help with or take care of something listed, please copy the line item and post specifically what you can do under the list post! We are trying to keep this as organized as possible with the little time we have to get it all together! We want Dustin to be smiling down at his celebration knowing how much he is loved and will be missed! As people volunteer for things I will post updated lists!

We are asking for a donation at the door to cover the cost of the hall and other things we need to rent. We don’t want this to stop anyone from coming if they don’t have it but we are asking for $10.00 per person. If you can give more great if you can give in addition to this to the Giving Forward Fundraiser for Dustin http://www.giveforward.com/fundraiserfordustinw that would be awesome as they match certain donations and that is to cover the funeral expenses as well as help Kylee and Layla be able to pay their bills until Kylee can find a job as is able to support her and Layla. We are also asking if you are willing, to put the link to the fundraiser on your pages to help it reach as many people as possible. http://www.giveforward.com/fundraiserfordustinw

if you have questions please message me here on the Hope page(this is the most organized way, keeping it all in one place) or at Cheryl Mastroeni-Thacker or you can email me at cheryl@creations-4-you.com Other contacts are Andrea Walton Sosnitskiy, Brett Walls, Joel Mastroeni and Jordan Boba Sypinski. Please don’t contact Kylee about details on this, she has enough to handle with the Church and Burial arrangements (she has friends helping). We want to take care of this one for her!

Thank you Erica for all your help in getting us this place and thank you everyone else in advance for helping make this be an awesome event!

Cheryl, Brett, Andrea, Joel, Jordon

Lastly, as I went through Dustin’s pictures I wanted to share a few pictures of the things that stuck out…………

First was this fortune out of a fortune cookie.

Another picture is Dustin with his wife & daughter in Florida in December. He was so excited to be able to go with his family.

Lastly is this picture, which just really touched me, and brought a tear to me eye

RIP Dustin

Another fundraiser added !!!!

Wings for Walls

Feb 22

Hooters of Concordville

20% of all food & merchandise purchased w/ benefit voucher donated to the Walls family.

There will be some cool 50/50 raffles as well

Come out & Support Dustin’s family

All info here

https://www.facebook.com/events/190934254340167/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

